top of page

The diet that finally healed me from Hashimoto's


I had spent 5 years trying everything to heal from Hashimoto's. I had tried the paleo diet, the blood group diet, the vegetarian diet and also the "I don't care anymore, I will eat whatever I want" diet. I had been to naturopaths, Traditional Chinese Medicine doctors and Ayurvedic doctors.


I got a lot of value from all these healing modalities. Ayurveda helped me the most. I learned about how the body works, about different elements (Vata, Pitta, Kapha) and mostly I learned about how my habits were creating my health. I knew that the actions I was taking were affecting my health. I started meditating every day and made big strides in taking exquisite care of myself. I healed relationships and put up boundaries around my energy, experiences and people in my life.


Becoming a Dru yoga teacher and the 3 year training involved was massive in my healing too.


Unfortunately, I would get better for a bit, then dip once again. I was on an emotional rollercoaster. I was exhausted - physically and mentally. I was sick and tired of being sick and tired.



One morning in meditation, I sat in deep acceptance of my illness. I spoke to my disease. Thanks to years of studying the teachings of Abraham Hicks, I knew that everything is always working out for me. Yet, I had not taken the time to think that maybe this disease was here because it was meant to be here.


I said hello and I welcomed it into my body. I stopped fighting it. I surrendered to it. It was no longer something that I was doing battle with. It was my friend. I was ready to live with it for the rest of my life.


I surrendered.

Shortly after this, I discovered Anthony William, the Medical Medium. Finally, the last piece of the puzzle fell into place. I slowly started implementing his suggestions for recovering from Hashimoto's.


I have been following his protocols for a year now and I am well on my way to a full recovery. My Ayurvedic doctor is so pleased with my progress. She is not giving me any dietary suggestions because she tells me that my digestive fire is strong and I am clearly doing the right things for my health.


Healing from Hashimoto's is not only about diet. There are many things at play. Mindset is the biggest one. If I had not changed my mindset, I would not have been led to the solution that my body needed.


And yet, diet is a huge factor. Once I understood how the disease works, I was able to shift my diet so that my body was supported in healing. I do not follow any particular diet. I eat in a way that supports my body. In summary, this is the diet that has helped me to heal:


Lots of fruit
Lots of vegetables
A low fat diet
I also avoid certain foods that do not support my illness. These are not "bad" foods. These are just foods that do not support my body right now because they feed the viruses in my body that have made me sick. These foods are:
Wheat, dairy, corn, soy, eggs, canola, pork and natural flavours.




My diet consists primarily of fruit and vegetables. I start each morning, drinking celery juice on an empty stomach. I eat only fruits until lunch time and have copious amounts of vegetables the rest of time. You could call it a plant based diet, since I base it on plants. But I do not call myself a vegan or a vegetarian. I eat meat, I even eat foods on the no list every now and then. At the end of the day, I have finally settled into a way of eating that supports me. A diet that is rich in fibre and life force. It's not rocket science - we all know to eat more fruit and vegetables. The difference is that I start with fruit and vegetables as my base - if I have space for other food, it is welcome.


I know it is working because my mind is clear, I am happier and I have more energy than I have had in 10 years!


I would love to know your best advice for someone healing from a chronic illness. What is the most important thing that you would advise them?




bottom of page