top of page

Mixed berry smoothie for breakfast

I have been having this smoothie for breakfast for about 9 months now. I do not get tired of it. It gives me energy for the day and has been instrumental in my healing. This smoothie evolved from Medical Medium's Heavy Metal Detox smoothie.


I was finding sourcing all the ingredients for the smoothie was becoming expensive, but I loved the taste of it, so I played around with it until I found a taste that I love. At the moment, I make this before school drop off and have it in the car while I catch up on my social media and emails before heading out to start my day. If I am home, I like to top it with fresh berries, or other fruits.


I have found that using frozen berries is more cost effective and it gives the smoothie a nice consistency.


I like starting my day this way for two reasons:


  • I am getting a lot of fruit into my body. Fruit is incredibly nourishing for the body. It is healing on so many levels. The antioxidants that are found in fruit are not found in other food that we eat. Once my day gets going after lunch time, I don't feel like eating as much fruit, so this is a great way to nourish my body upfront.

  • The second reason is that it gives the liver a break. One thing I learned from Medical Medium is that the liver works incredibly hard for us. And most people have a liver that is overburdened. The liver works to clear out the toxins in the body at night when we sleep. It keeps performing this function until we eat fat in our diet. This fat can be in the form of milk, cheese, bacon and eggs, yoghurt, butter, you name it. Once we consume fat, the liver stops detoxing and it starts producing bile to process the fat. So, by keeping fat out of the diet for the morning, I am giving my liver a bigger chance to detox for me.

I was pleasantly surprised to find how filling this smoothie is. I couldn't believe that only fruit could fill me up like this. The trick is volume. You need to have way more food than you are used to having when having more plants in your diet. The reason for this is that fruits are very low in calories. So you need to up the volume to up the calories. The volume I have is huge, it is shocking :). But it is so worth it!


Without further ado, here is the recipe for my mixed berry breakfast smoothie:


Blend:

1 banana
1/2 a packet of frozen mixed berries
a small handful of frozen pineapple
1 teaspoon of spirulina
1 tablespoon of raw honey
1 cup of water

Serve in a big bowl, topped with fresh, seasonal fruit, or pack in a glass jar and take on your morning commute to sip throughout the morning.


Additional options to make it even more healing:


  • 1 teaspoon of barley grass juice powder. I get mine here. Make sure to get the juice powder and not just the powder. ie barley grass juice powder, not barley grass powder.

  • 1 tablespoon of wild blueberry powder. I get mine here because I struggle to get the actual berries. If you are in the Northern hemisphere, they are easy to find in the frozen food section at the grocery store. If you can source them, you can replace the mixed frozen berries for frozen wild blueberries.

  • Spirulina helps to rebuild the central nervous system and remove heavy metals such as mercury and toxic copper from the liver, reproductive system, intestinal tract, thyroid and brain. Its critical micronutrients feed healthy thyroid tissue and have a restorative effect on the gland. Its iodine content is very effective as an antiseptic against EBV (Epstein-Barr Virus) cells in the thyroid, which reduces the viral load so it can heal. Spirulina can also reduce the growth of nodules, tumors and cysts (both cancerous and benign).

  • Raw honey is the best replenishing fuel there is to feed and revitalise the thyroid. The glucose and other nutrients in raw honey practically get mainlined into the thyroid to feed the gland. An antiviral too, that helps fight EBV with its zinc content.

  • Barley grass juice powder is amazing for aiding in the elimination of mercury and other toxic heavy metals from the body. It holds specific alkaloids that help to prevent the thyroid from atrophying while also blocking EBV from feeding off its favourite foods, such as toxic heavy metals, inside the thyroid.

  • Wild blueberries help restore the central nervous system and flush EBV toxins out of the liver. Wild blueberries contain exceptionally powerful antioxidants that help repair the thyroid's tissues and reduce the growth of nodules.

Bon appetit!




bottom of page